Top of main content

Glossary of FATCA terms

Retail Banking and Wealth Management – Mexico


FATCA stands for the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act.

US indicia

US indicia are elements that help identify certain characteristics of customers, used to determine if they are US persons.

W-9 and W-8BEN forms

These are US tax forms that allow an account holder to declare their status as a US person (W-9) or a non-US person (W-8BEN). The W-8BEN form is valid for three years.

Inter-governmental agreement (IGA)

An IGA is an agreement between the US and specific countries to build FATCA compliance into the country’s legal framework.

Internal Revenue Service (IRS)

The IRS is the United States government agency responsible for tax collection and tax law enforcement.

(Page last updated July 2014)